August 27, 2010

Prayer of Hospitality & Compassion

Posted in Contemporary Prayers, international prayers tagged , at 4:43 pm by davebayne

Open my eyes that they may see the deepest needs of people;
Move my hands that they may feed the hungry;
Touch my heart that it may bring warmth to the despairing;
Teach me the generosity that welcomes strangers;
Let me share my possessions to clothe the naked;
Give me the care that strengthens the sick;
Make me share in the quest to set the prisoner free.
In sharing our anxieties and our love, our poverty and our prosperity,
we partake of your divine presence.
~ Canaan Banana, Zimbabwe

With All God’s People: The New Ecumenical Prayer Cycle (Geneva: WCC Publications, 1989), 344.

1 Comment »

  1. Nedrea Scott said,

    I Heart you for this…………………………..Thank you 🙂


Leave a comment