January 5, 2013

Prayer for Epiphany

Posted in Contemporary Prayers, Epiphany, New Year's Prayer at 7:00 pm by davebayne

Beloved Jesus,
may I have the faith and insight of the Wise Men,
who, when faced with an ancient hope of a foreign people
and the appearance of a remarkable star,
grasped the connection, and went and followed that star.
I stand now at the border of a new year,
which is to me like an unknown country.
I don’t know what I will experience as I traverse it;
I don’t know what obstacles will lie across my path.
Lead me, like the Wise Men, on a quest
of faithfulness and worship,
of hopefulness and giving,
and always unto Yourself.
Amen.

~ Jeanie Gushee (1962–)

Taken from: Yours Is the Day, Lord, Yours Is the Night: A Morning and Evening Prayer Book

Leave a Reply

