May 19, 2011

The Solid Rock

Posted in creeds, hope, hymn, song lyrics tagged , , , , at 5:00 am by blync77

My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
 
When darkness veils His lovely face, I rest on His unchanging grace;
In ev’ry high and stormy gale, my anchor holds within the veil.
 
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.
 
His oath, His covenant, His blood, support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way, He then is all my hope and stay.
 
When He shall come with trumpet sound, O may I then in Him be found,
Dressed in His righteousness alone, faultless to stand before the throne.
 
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.
 
~Edward Mote, 1797-1874
 
I Corinthians 3:11
For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ.
Leave a Reply

